Rig Control Crashing on Shutdown When Closing COM Port

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rig Control Crashing on Shutdown When Closing COM Port

Hello, first post here; thanks for adding me.

I'm in the early stages of my trial period of HRD and I am by and large thrilled with its operation. My only "gripe" thus far is that when I'm closing down the program it crashes at the COM port shutdown. The program hangs at that point and I have to force it to shut down.This locks up the COM port and it becomes necessary to reboot in order to run HRD again. Here's my setup:

Rig: Yaesu FT-450D, speed of com port is set to 38400, CTS is set to enable.
    Accessory: Signalink USB connected via 6 pin data port on 450D. Works dandy.
    Serial Device: ATTEN USB to Serial Bridge running on COM5, no other active serial devices running when crash occurs. Driver indicates as being latest available.
    PC: Dell XPS with i5 processor, 16 GB of RAM, nVidia video

I am still learning the basics of HRD but getting a good grasp on it. It appears I can control the rig fully via rig control, DM780 works fine with PSK31, everything "appears" normal until I shut down rig control.

As an aside I am able to control the FT-450D via SDR-Console, configured as an external transceiver and controlled in conjunction with Omni-Rig. Shutdown is normal there, for what it's worth. It seems to me that the ATTEN USB to Serial Bridge is functioning normally. Maybe HRD is unhappy with it?

As another aside, I have other PC's I can test on as well, but it appeared to me that during my trial period of HRD I am restricted to use on one PC as the temporary license is tied to my callsign.

While I intend to take the majority of the trial period to be sure I'm happy before purchase, I pretty much already am quite pleased with HRD with this one exception. Any thoughts or assistance would be greatly appreciated. Trying here before I call in the cavalry (AKA support).

Thanks and 73!

Scott/KC1UA